Exploration of the Planets (1970)

Send to Chromecast

The Solar System, or solar system, consists of the Sun and the other celestial objects gravitationally bound to it: the eight planets, their 166 known moons,three dwarf planets (Ceres, Pluto, and Eris and their four known moons), and billions of small bodies. This last category includes asteroids, Kuiper belt objects, comets, meteoroids, and interplanetary dust.

In broad terms, the charted regions of the Solar System consist of the Sun, four terrestrial inner planets, an asteroid belt composed of small rocky bodies, four gas giant outer planets, and a second belt, the Kuiper belt, composed of icy objects. Beyond the Kuiper belt is the scattered disc, the heliopause, and ultimately the hypothetical Oort cloud.


  • 3D Sun (2008)
  • Universe, The (2007-)
  • Tales of Tomorrow – Red Dust (1960)
  • Rocky Jones – Menace From Outer Space (1954)
  • One Step Beyond – The Return of Mitchell Compion (1959)
  • Outer Limits, The (1963-66)
  • Battlestar Galactica (1978-80)
  • Rocky Jones – Crash of the Moons (1954)

  • One thought on “Exploration of the Planets (1970)”

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Current day month ye@r *